Order and Chaos – Life, Knowledge Cubed – Part 21

Blog series “Life, Knowledge Cubed” – Part 21

Chapter Four – Kindergarten Refresher

Last: Part 20

The First Lesson: Order and Chaos

“Welcome students,” I tell the children, “this is your first day of school, and what you are going to learn while you’re here is all the basics. If you have the discipline and patience you will learn to read, to write, to do math, you will graduate kindergarten here with a second grade education that half of the adult population still hasn’t learned.

“My first lesson to all the new children is also a good refresher for you old timers, so please have some self control and don’t spoil the lesson,” I pick up the largest pink cube from the shelf of ten cubes that range from largest to smallest. The first work in a Montessori school.  “Let’s say this is knowledge, this is what I want to know about. Is this right? Or is this wrong?” As I’m talking I’m gather three more cubes and setting them up in a tower.

“Is this right or wrong?” I ask again finishing my tower.

“Right,” they will reply.

Then I will push it over with my hands allowing this small tower to crash off my mat and spread around. There will be a gasp (because the teach specifically said NOT to push over the cube towers.)

“Right or wrong?” I’ll ask.

“Wrong!” they’ll reply. [Read]

Leave a Reply

